Living with Intention: New opportunities for a life of sobriety


This article is a feature on my friend, John L.  Please join me in congratulating him by posting comments of encouragement for continuing sobriety and staying OUT!!

Story by Dixie Reid | Photo by Tim Engle

John Lewis Sullivan was addicted to drugs at age 13, stealing to support his habit and generally making mischief of varying degrees. He’s since spent 18 of his 42 years in jail or in California’s prison system.

“I’d never been out a whole year until I decided to change my life,” Sullivan says. “Don and his program helped me.”

Don Troutman, a recovering alcoholic, is the founder of Clean & Sober Intentional Living, a communal-living program for people committed to a lifetime of sobriety. It’s the oldest and largest such community in Northern California, with 15 residences in Orangevale and Fair Oaks.

“After they leave treatment, a lot of people think they have it made,” says Troutman. “You get a guy detoxed and send him through treatment and then put him back into his old environment, and he’ll start using again. The expectation is that he is what he is, and everything he’s learned goes away.”

Troutman got into the recovery-home business in 1989 as a way to keep himself sober after his brother died of an overdose. He calls himself “Resident No. 1.” He currently has 130 men and women in his program, all determined to stay clean for life.

Rent ranges from $450 to $795 a month, and the average length of residency is two and a half years. The longest anyone has been in the program is 16 years, making Sullivan a relative newcomer.

“Last winter,” Sullivan says, “I was pretty much homeless, running the streets, stealing copper to supply my drug habit. I was living in a tent on the river, and I just said, ‘God, there’s got to be more than this.’ I hit my rock bottom. I didn’t want to do it no more. I was freezing cold, and I was getting the flu. I went and told my parole officer that I needed help.”

Sullivan was sent to an intensive drug-use modification program and afterward moved into a recovery home.

“The people in the house weren’t serious about their program. They were still drinking,” Sullivan says. “So I got a hold of Don Troutman and told him my situation.”

Continue Reading @ ComstockMag.com

3 thoughts on “Living with Intention: New opportunities for a life of sobriety

  1. Thank you for this encouraging article and letting others know there is always hope.
    My son is currently serving 70 years for residential burglary (non violent offense). I pray for a miracle so some day he will be home with us. Your story is inspirational. Prop 36 is awesome but it left many non violent offenders behind such as my own son. You see residential burglary is defined as serious felon even if no one was home and it occurred in broad daylight. Thank you for helping those with addiction and released from prison to move forward with their lives. I hope you continue on with your work.
    LIz Stewart

    Like

Leave a Reply

